Cup with 64 participants

A few weeks ago a new friendly cup was started on SoccerProject. In itself nothing remarkable, but this one was for 64 teams instead of 4, 8, 16 or 32, which are the only options we provide. I knew about this possibility, I had tried it once myself (one of my Ponziani Cups), but it was meant to be hidden for the other managers.

Immediately I started looking for the manager responsible for this and of course that wasn’t hard to find. My first option was to cancel the cup and ban the manager, but after some thought I decided to try something else. I contacted the manager and asked to immediately cancel the cup and how exactly he found out how to do this. Surprisingly he did cancel the cup and even more surprisingly he told me he was no programmer, he was just trying some stuff.

He also guaranteed me he didn’t try anything else like this and didn’t mean any harm. I decided to believe him and asked if he could try the same technique to other pages, to see if he could find any other ‘holes’. And that is what actually happened. Since then he has contacted me a few times when he found another bug and then I fixed the bug.

Yesterday, I wasn’t to glad to notice he succeeded in deleting the nickname from one of my players, but I am glad I was able to fix this bug before another malicious user could delete a lot of other nicknames.

Anyway I’m pleased with the way this situation turned out and I hope we’ll find some more bugs this way which we will be able to fix then.

Explore posts in the same categories: Community, Development, Soccerproject

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Cup with 64 participants”

  1. Sliv Says:

    Very Cool, makes me wanna “try stuff” too ๐Ÿ™‚

    So when will Cups for 64 teams become available?
    I’d love to create a Private Cup for all German managers ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. sjarel Says:

    I hope by the time it becomes available, there will be too much German managers to invite๐Ÿ˜› Actually we’re keeping this option for special occasions, I’m not sure when they will occur though.

  3. sljivovica Says:

    Just release it and keep the 128-Cup for special occasions ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

