AdToll Review

For about 6 weeks I’ve been trying Adtoll now and I wanted to share some experiences. Not an in-depth analysis, just a few simple thoughts on how it felt being an AdToll-publisher and advertiser.

First up, my publishing experience. On AdToll there are two possibilities, Run-Of-Networks Ads and ads bought by advertisers. The RON-Ads are being used whenever the ad space you make available for AdToll is not being bought by advertisers. In general we’ve had very few reactions by advertisers, maybe they found the price we set was too high, but I don’t really feel that’s correct. This resulted in a lot of RON-ads being shown. That wouldn’t be too bad, if only they’d gave us enough statistics about that. Ron-ads are being paid per click, but not only did they not show the number of impressions we got from this, their number of clicks also differed significantly from our own OpenX-numbers. I did ask about the difference, but their answer didn’t really explain why their count was 90% lower than ours. That said, I must admit they never let an E-mail unanswered, which is something I enjoy a lot, definitely a plus !

On the advertising site, I was very pleased with the ease-of-use. Simply pick a campaign of your choice, pay by PayPal and the campaign is started. It gave me the chance to experiment a little and as I could have guessed, choosing the right site to advertise on is by far the most important thing to do. For example, over 1200 clicks from RON ads resulted in less subscriptions on SoccerProject than about 200 clicks on another MMOG, which even costed us three times less. That brings me to another downside. When I wanted to rebook the ad on the MMOG, they refused it, which is exactly why I’m not mentioning them here. Obviously they can do that, but as an advertiser you’re glad when you find an advertising spot worth advertsing on, so it’s a dissapointment if it’s gets rejected after a few hours.

As a conclusion I think I can say it’s a nice system, it just turned out not good enough for us. Especially the eCPM on the RON ads for publishers is not good enogh for us to keep using Adtoll as an extra Ad serving site. However, as I said, I was very pleased with some advertising campaigns I bought, so if you’re looking to advertise in a niche market, you might find some good deals here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Advertising, Development, Soccerproject

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

